Friday, February 3, 2012

1982-1983 - SEASON


Regina Pats new Coach Don Boyd resigned on February 6 and the Assistant Coach Barry Trapp, took over as Head Coach on February the 9th.

Photos: Don Boyd and Barry Trapp

The St. Louis Blues have their NHL training camp at the Regina Agridome for the second straight year.

Three new teams entered the League that season: Prince Albert Radiers, Kelowna Wings and Nanaimo Islanders. Billings Bighorn's owner, Joe Sample, sold the team franchise to Bill Zuitlin and Real Turcotte. The new owners moved the franchise to Nanaimo, B.C. The new team was renamed Islanders, playing in the 3,000 seat Frank Crane Arena. Prince Albert Raiders had been playing in the Saskatchewan Junior Amateur Hockey League, they play in the Communiplex. The other new entry was Kelowna Wings, their franchise only lasted two years.

1982-1983 REGINA PATS ROSTER - Goalies: Todd Lumbard, Jamie Reeve, Jim Campbell Defense: Jason Meyer, Gary Leeman, Frank Joo, Stu Grimson, Dave Goertz, John Miner, Al Tuer, Rick Herbert Centre: Dale "Rat" Derkatch, Marc Centrone, Kurt Wickenheiser, Bob Lowes, R.J. Dundas, Tony Vogel Right Wing: Doug Trapp, Gary Leeman, Brad Wells, Brent Fedyk, John Bekkers, Rick Nasheim, Walter Shutter, Troy Vollhoffer, Rocky Dundas Left Wing: Taylor Hall, Lyndon Byers, Jeff Crawford (Captain), Al Tuer (Captain - December 17), Nevin Markwart, Jeff Frank Coach: Don Boyd (Resigns February 6) Assistant Coach: Barry Trapp (Coach -February 9) Coach-General Manager: Bob Strumm Trainer: Karl Jones Publicity Director: Stew MacDonald

At Brandon Keystone Centre, on Friday, December 3, Regina Pats' Nevin Markwart took a 20 foot desperation shot and scored at 19:59 of the third period, with ONE SECOND remaining in the game to give the Pats a 4-3 victory.

At Regina, starting the first game of the schedule up to November 5, Dale Derkatch tied the W.H.L. record. A fifteen consecutive goal scoring streak, previously held by Brian Propp of Brandon in the 1978-1979 season.

On February 18, Dale Derkatch tied a club record when he scored his thirteenth first game goal against Calgary as the Pats won 5-4 before 4,774 fans. Sunday, March 6, Dale had his 17th game winning assist, a new WHL record. Wednesday, March 16, Regina downed the Calgary Wranglers and recorded their 47th win, a WHL record. Regina Pats are the only team to have 47 or more wins in four consecutive seasons to date.


Type of AwardThe Trophy NamePlayers Name
League Top Scorer ...... Bobby Clarke Trophy ...... Dale Derkatch
Top DefensemanBill Hunter TrophyGary Leeman

Regina Pats' Dale Derkatch won the WHL scoring race. He played in 67 games, had 84 goals, and 95 assists for 179 points. Dale breaks another WHL record as he had three consecutive 60-goal seasons. Dale and Defenseman Gary Leeman were selected on the first All-Star Team while goalie Todd Lumbard made the Second All-Star Team.


Type of AwardThe Trophy NamePlayers Name
Top Rookie AwardNick Pappas Memorial TrophyJohn Miner
Most SportsmanlikeHub Bishop Memorial TrophyJohn Bekkers
Top DefencemanCharles Johnston Memorial TrophyGary Leeman
Most Valuable PlayerThe Barker TrophyDale Derkatch
Top Leading ScorerTorchy Schell Memorial TrophyDale Derkatch
Most Improved PlayerNo TrophyDoug Trapp
Most Popular PlayerNo TrophyDale Derkatch
Unsung HeroBooster Club AwardLyndon Byers
Top Play-off PerformerNo TrophyBob Lowes

EASTERN SEMI-FINALS - Friday, April 1, Saskatoon and Regina received first round buys. Regina Pats Dale Derkatch scored three goals as the Pats downed Calgary Wranglers 5-1 before 5,394 at the Regina Agridome. With Pats taking a 2-1 lead into the middle period, Calgary had their opportunities with the man advantage numerous times. Pats spent a good part of the frame killing penalties and being outshot 15-5. It was Pats who scored at 19:55 when Bob Lowes scored on a break-a-way. He shoved a backhand shot between the legs of goalie Mike Vernon.

Sunday, April 3, Wranglers downed Regina 6-3 at the Agridome. Penalties hurt the Pats in the final 20 minutes as Calgary scored twice to put the game out of reach for the local Regina club. Wranglers held a 17-3 margin in shots. Calgary's fourth liner Warren Yadlowski was the games top scorer producing two goals.

Monday, April 4, at the Calgary Corral, in front of 5,359, Wranglers defeated the Pats 5-3. With Pats down 4-3 in the last minute of play, coach Barry Trapp had pulled goaltender Todd Lumbard in favor of an extra attacker. Wranglers' Doug Moffat sent the puck down the ice into the empty net at 19:43. Calgary increased their lead to 4-0 early in the final period. Pats scored three consecutive goals until Moffat's second goal into the empty net clinched the victory.

Tuesday, April 5, Pats fell behind 6-0 after the second period at the Corral. Calgary went on to down Regina 6-2 and took a strong strangle hold on the series. The mid point of the second period resulted in a brawl after Pats' Stu Gibson collided with Calgary goalie Mike Vernon. The result had 11 players coming to blows.

Friday, April 8, Regina made their first appearance at the Exhibition Stadium since 1977. Nevin Markwart returned to the lineup having recovered from a January shoulder injury. The game had to be moved to the Pasqua rink due to the World Curling taking over at the Agridome.

In front of 4,240 fans, they saw Calgary's Scott Makin's slapshot goal break a tie and become the winner. The Wranglers went on to defeat the hometown Pats 5-3. The Calgary forward shot as he crossed the blue line, sending the puck rising toward Regina's goalie Todd Lumbard. He ducked, the puck went under the crossbar and the Wranglers had the lead and victory.

That year became the first four-team Memorial Cup Tournament. Portland Winter Hawks were the host, Lethbridge Broncos represented the west, defeating the Winter Hawks in the League final. From the east it was Oshawa Generals (OHA) and Verdun Junior Canadiens (QMJHL). It was the first time that the Tournament was ever hosted by an American team. The Ottawa Generals lost to the host Winter Hawks 8-3 in the final. Portland became the first American team to ever win the Memorial Cup.

FRONT ROW: Jamie Reeve, Al Tuer, Karl Jones (Trainer), Don Boyd (Coach, Jeff Crawford, Bob Strumm, (Owner and Manager), Barry Trapp (Assitant Coach), Garry Leeman, Todd Lumbard SECOND ROW: Stew MacDonald (Publicity Director), R.J. Dundas, Lyndon Byers, John Bekkers, Marc Centrone, Stu Grimson, Jeff Frank, Dave Goertz, Rick Herbert , Bryan Raymond (Marketing Manager) THIRD ROW: Dale Derkatch, Tony Vogel, Taylor Hall, Doug Trapp, Nevin Markwart, Kurt Wickenheiser, John Miner, Jayson Meyer