Saturday, February 4, 2012

1988-1989 - SEASON

The New Westminster Bruins franchise was moved to Tri-City, playing in Kennewick, Washington. The new club was re-named the Tri-City Americans. Saskatoon Blades moved from their old Saskatoon Arena to the new 7,734 seat Saskatchewan Place Arena.

Dennis Sobchuk becomes the Regina Pats New Head Coach, and on November 17, takes over as General Manager, while the Assistant Coach Bernie Lynch becomes Coach. (Photo: Sobchuk - HHOF-#000054-0224 - O-Pee-Chee)

1988-1989 REGINA PATS ROSTER - Goalies: Rod Houk, Brian Leibel Defense: Kevin Haller, Terry Hollinger, Jim Mathieson, Brad Miller, Darren Parsons, Dave Gerse, Cam Brauer, Brad Treliving, Mike Dyck, Joel Dyck Centre: Mike Sillinger, Chad Silvers, Cory Paterson, Brad McGinnis, Trevor Sim Right Wing: Jamie Heward, Jeff Sabastian, Shane Bogden, Mark Cipriano, Mike Kirby, John Badduke, Todd Leech Left Wing: Gary Dickie, Brad McGinnis, Scott Daniels, Frank Kovacs, Kelly Markwart, Jamie Splett, Curtis Nykyforuk, Dave Duquette N/K: Warren Joseph Coach: Dennis Sobchuck General Manager: Thursday, November 17 Assistant Coach: Bernie Lynch Coach: Thursday, November 17 Athletic Therapist: Dwayne Montieth

At Regina on Friday, October 7, the Pats scored the two fastest opening goals in twenty-nine seconds. Gary Dicke at 18 seconds and Jamie Heward at the 29 second mark before 2,416 fans as the Pats downed Prince Albert.

Pats were getting to be known as the overtime kings. The first thirteen games already had them involved in six overtime games, as well as four consecutive overtime games, a new club record. Before Christmas, Pats had already been involved in eighteen games where the game was decided by one goal and had also played in twelve overtime games. Regina went on to break another club and WHL record playing in nineteen overtime games. Regina Pats finished in eighth place (in the cellar) in the Eastern Division that season.


Type of AwardThe Trophy NamePlayers Name
Top Rookie AwardNick Pappas Memorial TrophyKevin Haller
Most SportsmanlikeHub Bishop Memorial TrophyBrad McGinnis
Top DefencemanCharles Johnston Memorial TrophyJim Mathieson
Most Valuable PlayerThe Barkers TrophyMike Sillinger
Top Leading ScorerTorchy Schell Memorial TrophyMike Sillinger
Most Goals ScoredNo TrophyMike Sillinger
Most ImprovedNo trophyCory Peterson
Most PopularNo TrophyGary Dickie
Player's PlayerNo TrophyJim Mathieson
Unsung HeroBooster Club AwardJamie Heward
Leading Vote GetterMolson Three Star AwardMike Sillinger
Player of the YearBooster Club AwardRod Houk
Scholastic AwardNo TrophyRod Houk

The Memorial Cup Tournament was hosted by Saskatoon Blades. The other WHL team was the League champion Swift Current Broncos, who became the first team in history to go through the play-offs with no losses or ties. The teams from the east were Peterborough Petes (OHA) and Laval Titans (QMJHL). For the first time two Saskatchewan teams met in the Memorial Cup Final. Blades edged the Broncos in the round 5-4 to break their fourteen-game play-off winning streak. Tim Tisdale's over-time goal gave the Broncos a 5-4 win and the Memorial Cup.

(Photo: Royal Studio – Regina Pats Collection)

Front Row: Rod Houk, Scott Daniels, Dale Cory (CKRM - Broadcaster), Gary Dickies, Dennis Sobchuk (Coach), Dwayne Montieth (Athletic Therapist), Jim Mathieson Second Row: Jeff Sabastian, Chad Silver, Cam Brauer, Mike Dyck, Kevin Haller, Trevord Sim, Frank Kovacs, Terry Hollinger Third Row: Brad McGinnis, Mark Cipriano, Mike Sillinger, Curtis Hykyforuk, Jamie Heward, Kelly markwart, Darren Parsons, Todd Leech, Cory Paterson