Friday, January 25, 2013


in support of former Pats Captain Kyle Deck and the Kidney Foundation.

This coming Monday, January 28, 2013

New for this year, the Skills Competition will be preceded by a Pats Alumni Game.  Fans get a chance to see former Pats return to the ice featuring  Ed Staniowski,  Mike Sillinger, Dale Derkatch, Jamie Heward and many more.  Fans have the opportunity to take a piece of the game home with them as the Pats Alumni jerseys will be auctioned off in support of former Pats Captain Kyle Deck and the Kidney Foundation.  To build on the money raised, the Shooting Stars Foundation and its founders Jordan Eberle, Jamie Heward and Mike Sillinger are pledging to match the funds earned through the Alumni Jersey Auction.

Eddie Staniowski (Goaltender 1971-1974)  - Can not see him as playing goal in this game, but one never knows.

Mike Sillinger (Center - 1987-88 - 1990-91) - played in all three alumni games against Moose Jaw.

Dale Derkatch - (Center - 1981-82 - 1984-85) and Coach (2008-09)

Record with the Regina Pats:  Most goals 222, assists 269, points 491; Consecutive points scoring streak 47 - 1981; Consecutive goal scoring streak 15 - 1982-83; Most points by a rookie 142 (62 goals, 80 assists)

Kyle Ross

Martin Smith - Played for 5 teams in just 2 years in the WHL: Seattle Thunderbird, Saskatoon Blades, Brandon Wheat King,  Victoria Cougars before joining the Regina Pats in 1989-90 season. 

Jamie Heward:  to the left (Right Wing - Defence)

Brad Anderson  (Center 1970-71 - 1972-3)  Another oldie went on and played with Victoria Cougars

Jordan McGillivray (Left Wing 2001-02 - 2005-06) One of the youngest players. 

“Hockey is a small world and Kyle is a dear friend,” says Heward.  “As Regina Pats Alumni, Jordan, Mike and I are extremely proud to help out in any way we can.”

Sillinger adds, “What better way to help out?  Let’s play some hockey with friends in front of great fans and at the same time support a fellow alumnus in need with a jersey auction.  Come out and bid!”

After competing in the Alumni Game, former Pats join current members of the Blue and White along with a select group of local media to go head to head in the four challenges with each player’s points affecting the team total.

                                                                              Kyle Deck

“Every year we strive to put together new and exciting events for our fans to enjoy and this season’s Prairie Mobile Skills Competition being held in the Brandt Centre will be like no other,” says Pats V.P. of Business Operations, Cliff Mapes. “These events don’t take place without our important corporate partners and once again I would like to thank Shea Paisley of Prairie Mobile Communications for taking a lead role in this event for the third time along with Mike Sillinger, Jamie Heward and Jordan Eberle of the Shooting Stars Foundation for supporting the Alumni Game fundraiser for Kyle Deck.”

The Brandt Centre doors open at 6 p.m. on Monday and admission is by minimum donation to the Kyle Deck Foundation/ Regina Kidney Foundation.  The event will be hosted by the Wolf Morning Show with Chad and Ballsy from 104.9 The Wolf as well as Ryan Schultz from 620 CKRM.

For more information on the Prairie Mobile Pats Skills Competition and Alumni Game, visit or call the Pats Office at 522-PATS.

Alumni Game Rosters

Team Blue
Team White
Kyle Ross (Center)
Jordan McGillivray (LW)
Brad Anderson (Center)
Mike Sillinger (Center)
Nevin Markwart (LW)
Martin Smith (C) (LW)
Dale Derkatch (Centre)
Jamie Heward (Defence)
Doug Trapp (LW)
Kurt Wickenheiser (Center)
Mike Kirby (RW)
Jarrett Jagow (Center)
Ryan Bender (Defence)
Justin Bernhardt (Center)
Rod Houk (Goaltender)
Frank Kovacs (LW)
Selmar Odelein (Defence)
Ed Staniowski (Goaltender)
Troy Vollhoffer (LW)
Tony Vogel (Center)
Chad Wilchynski (Defence)
Darrin McKechnie (LW)
Al Dumba  (RW)(LW)
Gord Wappel (Defence)
Jon Hammond (LW)
Kelly Markwart (LW)
Ron Babchuk (Center)
Brett Leffler (RW)
Coach: Ballsy
Coaches: Chad and Schultzie

Blue Team: 

Kyle Ross (2003-07); Brad Anderson (1970-73); Nevin Markwart (1981-83); Dale Derkatch (1981-84); Doug Trapp (1982-85); Mike Kirby ( 1988-91); Ryan Bender (2007-08); Rod Houk (1987-89); Selmar Odelein (1982-86); Troy Vollhoffer (1982-83); Chad Wilchynski (1993-97); Al Dumba (1973-76); Jon Hammond (1973-76); Ron Babchuk (1979-81)  

White Team: 

Jordan McGillivray (2001-06); Mike Sillinger (1987-91); Martin Smith (1989-90); Jamie Heward (1987-91); Kurt Wickenheiser (1981-85); Jarrett Jagow (2006-08); Justin Bernhardt (2003-07); Frank Kovacs(1887-92); Ed Staniowski (1971-75); Tony Vogel (1981-83); Darrin McKechnie (1986-88); Gord Wappel (1974-78); Kelly Markwart (1987-91); Brett Leffler (2004-09)

I choose the White Team to win by three goals.